Seven states score Medicaid waivers for coronavirus

The CMS on Wednesday gave seven more states flexibility for their Medicaid programs, allowing them to alter requirements and address the COVID-19 pandemic.

Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Missouri, Oregon and Rhode Island scored the new Section 1135 Medicaid waivers. So far, the CMS has approved 23 of these waivers with an average turnaround of less than seven days between a state submitting its plan and getting the green light.

Many of the states requested permission to temporarily suspend their preauthorization requirements and allow Medicaid beneficiaries to seek care in alternative settings, even if the facility isn’t licensed via Medicaid. They also requested to relax provider enrollment requirements so the states can expedite out-of-state providers’ enrollments and give beneficiaries better access to care.

The Section 1135 waivers will be effective until the coronavirus public emergency ends.

As the world reacts to the unpredecedented COVID-19 pandemic, Modern Healthcare is covering the virus and its impact on the healthcare industry. Our coronavirus-related stories are free to the public, and we ask that you support our journalism here.